Saturday, 6 March 2010

Aeon Award 2010 Launched

Also from the Albedo 1 site:

Albedo One is proud to announce the launch of the Fifth International International Aeon Award Short Fiction Contest, 2010. The goals of the Aeon Award are to promote writers and the writing of speculative fiction, be it science fiction, fantasy, horror or anything unclassifiable or in-between. The contest is open to writers from all nationalities for stories of up to 8000 words long, that are previously unpublished in English. The Grand Prize is 1000 euro and publication in Albedo One. Second and third place prizes are 200 and 100 euro and publication in Albedo One.

The contest is open from January 1st 2010 to the end of November 2010, after which the winning stories are chosen by our Grand Judge, respected SF author, Ian Watson (see Ian's homepage here). Since 2004, the Aeon Award has helped promote exceptional work of authors in speculative fiction. Aside from winning the cash prizes and publication in Albedo One, winning and shortlisted stories have been given Honourable Mentions or been reprinted in prestigious volumes such as the Year's Best Science Fiction, edited by Gardner Dozois, and the Year's Best Fantasy and Horror, edited by Ellen Datlow, Kelly Link and Gavin Grant. Other winning stories have been translated and published in prestigious European magazines, like Galaxies SF, edited by Pierre M. Gevart. The Aeon Award is therefore a great opportunity to promote your work. A modest entry fee of 7 euro applies, which can be paid easily and securely online via PayPal on our contest guidelines page, here.

No comments: